PINTEREST TEST | Chalkboard Paint

One of the easiest and most beautiful ways to paint furniture for your shabby chic decor is chalk paint. Annie Sloan has some amazing chalk paint and wax products for creating beautiful furniture pieces, however, being a stay at home mom living on one income there is no way I can possibly afford her paint!!  While cruising pinterest I came across this pin and realized my dream of finally painting the beautiful desk my mother in law gave me many years ago would finally come true…if the recipe actually worked!!!

The desk I have is one that has a very slick covering on it and it was not solid wood, so sanding it could have caused big problems.  It is a type of laminate and anyone who has tried painting laminate knows it can come out pretty bad.  I did more research as read that this chalk paint “recipe” would also paint laminate and there was no sanding or priming prior to painting so I decided to give it a try.

Here is what I started with:and this is how it came out:

I also use another pinterest technique for distressing that worked quite well.  I used the Vaseline technique on the wood and the hardware. As you can see the hardware came out beautiful:

MY THOUGHTS: Thank you Idea Room for sharing an amazing “recipe” and making my day with affordable chalk paint!!!  This paint works like a charm and you can mix the grout with any color you desire.  I used Johnson’s Paste Wax to finish off the desk and it works great.  Thank you Shanty 2 Chic for sharing the Vaseline technique and making the distressed look so easy!!! Both of the pinterest pins work amazingly well.  I highly recommend both if you are looking to paint distressed furniture and shabby chic your decor!

Leave a Reply

